Danny Batth: I’m not getting carried away

Wolves terrific (that’s Mick’s favorite word, haha) centre-back prospect Danny Batth is out on loan to the U’s and has talked to Wolves World about his time there and how he is developing as a footballer.

It’s been going well and I’ve really enjoyed it. We’ve had some good results and are now fourth in the table in what is a very tight league with only a one point gap to second. I was thrown straight into the team against Hartlepool after a couple of days training which was good.

The experience is so important because moving up from reserve team football it’s a lot more results-based and everything is about getting the three points on a Saturday. There’s more of a buzz to be involved in a first team set-up and knowing there are points up for grabs every week.

Being able to keep my place in the team has got me into the routine of first team football and I’m coming up against players that have been there and done it. That can only help my development. It’s good to be at a club pushing hard in the league as well while I managed to get my FA Cup debut at Bromley last weekend when we managed to win 4-0.

Steve Weaver (the development coach) has been down to see me in training and has watched a few games. It’s good to know Wolves are keeping track of how I’m doing and I come back to train here on Mondays as well. That keeps my links with the place going. At the same time I know I’m spending the season with Colchester which gives me something to aim for in terms of trying to help the team get promoted from what is a hard league.

It was the right time for me to go out on loan. I had a few good games in the reserves at the start of the season which increased my confidence and helped me prepare for first team football. The manager (Andy Boothroyd) is very experienced and has been at a high level and he’s very specific in terms of how to play and how we should defend and it’s all a good learning process. John Ward (former Wolves assistent) is number two there so there’s another Wolves connection and he’s helping me as well.

It has gone really well so far but I’m not getting carried away. It is a case of taking one game at a time, enjoying the experience and seeing where it takes me.

It can be added that Danny Batth has done very well at the U’s. I know that from some friends that support the team. They say already that they want to keep him there for eternity and that he is a future Premier League player for sure. But of course they can’t keep him. Wolves needs skilled centre-backs and I have a notion that next season is the time when Danny Batth will make his mark in the Premier League. For Wolves!

Paddy
ABatth

~ by paddytheflea on November 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
