Republic of Ireland striker Doyle: It’s doable

Wolves and Ireland striker Kevin Doyle has talked to Wolves official site about the upcoming game against France.

It’s just another team and a lot of it is in our heads. The coach (Giovanni Trapattoni) uses the word mentality a lot – and he’s right. You see it in the Premier League this season, everybody’s beating everybody, you can go anywhere and beat anyone. And I think we’re starting to believe that.

In a way, playing France takes the pressure off a little bit because a lot of people will think, ‘oh well, it’s France and they’re former world champions and they’re all world class players’. But I think they’re in the play-offs for a reason – they haven’t been playing as well. So I fancy our chances against them. I think if we’d got a so-called lesser team, like Greece, more pressure would have been on us. People would just have us expected us to win. So I think it’s good, we usually do better as a slight underdog.

Kevin will have to try to get through Gallas again, as he did when Wolves met Arsenal latest.

The French defenders are strong, fast, quick – everything that most defenders are in the Premier League. It’s good to have that experience of playing against them and hopefully that will help me as well. It’s not going to be easy but it’s do-able I think and all the players are confident.

It seems like it’s been a long campaign. We’ve gone through it unbeaten and, now, if we can go unbeaten in the next two games, we’ll know by next week whether we’re going to a World Cup or not. We’ve been talking about it a long time so I’m just looking forward to finding out.

Mick McCarthy, manager of Wolves, and his assistant Terry Connor will be watching Kevin in the over 80,000 crowd at Croke Park tomorrow. Andy Keogh will probably be on the bench from start hoping to come in later.

Mick about the fear of injuries in the Wolves squad:

“I haven’t had any sleepless nights about any injuries because there isn’t a solitary thing I can do about it. There are loads of things I can worry about which I can change without worrying about that. Worrying about that is just counter-productive.

It sounds like our manager knows his psychology as well as Maestro Trapattoni. Oh how I wish I could be there tomorrow. I think I will look for a cheap flight!

8016963
Kevin Doyle – in training before the match tomorrow

~ by paddytheflea on November 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
