Edwards: I always want to score more goals

Dave Edwards – Wolves experienced Wales International – has talked to the official site about Wales, scoring goals, his position in Wolves and how he finds it playing in the Premier League

About the Wales game against Scotland

It was a result we massively needed. We’d beaten Liechtenstein and lost to Finland but hadn’t played particularly well in either of the games to be honest. It was nice to get back to Cardiff and a new stadium which we’re hoping to play more games at and play really well for a 3-0 win which we thoroughly deserved. It was a good start for us there in front of a good atmosphere and with the young team we’ve got hopefully the sign of better things to come.

About his goal against the Scots

On a personal note it was nice to get the goal. The ball came across quickly and it’s sometimes an easier chance like that when you haven’t got time to dwell on anything. I’d missed a couple of chances in the last few games so it was good to get one. I’ve got three in 18 international games now which isn’t too bad considering we’re a smaller nation. I’m proud as punch every time I pull on the jersey and to score a goal and help the team is even better.

About scoring for Wolves as well

I always want to score more goals,” he says. My record since I came to Wolves probably could have been better but it is a lot harder this season in the Premier League and you certainly don’t get as many chances. With that in mind I have to make sure I make the most of the chances when they come along.

About his favorite playing position

I’ve played on the right hand side a few times and still managed to get in the box and try and get on the end of things but perhaps not as regularly as when I’ve been in the centre. In the centre I seem to be able to time my runs a little bit better and maybe when on the right you have to keep your shape a little bit more and be the outlet rather than getting on the end of things. It’s still a position where I should be able to get in good positions and make runs inside the defenders and into the back stick. That’s what I’ll be aiming to do if I play there again and hopefully get more goals.

I think Edwards best position is at centre of midfield. But can he beat the opposition from Castillo and Milijas and take a place in the starting eleven in the centre? I would certainly prefer him to Castillo, but I want Milijas in from start. But in a five man midfield both could find a position.

Watch Edwards goal HERE

~ by paddytheflea on November 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
