Mick’s got the heart for the game

We all know that the Wolverhampton Wanderers manager Mick McCarthy’s heart is in for football. But how is his ticker doing? There are many managers who have or have had serious heart problems. Is our manager in the risk group?

I think jobs in general put you under stress. I guess it is how you handle it- whether you let it rule your life, ruin your life, it’s always going to be a problem. It’s whether you keep yourself healthy which I think is vital, and which I try to do.

Is it more stressful in the Premier League? Of course, nevertheless it was still stressful at the top of Championship because the expectation was that we were going to win it and any small problem was magnified. I guess it is the same at the bottom, we all know the stakes that we are playing for. I certainly don’t allow it to ruin my life but I can’t say that I am not thinking about it all the time – because I am.

I have my heart checked at the Wellness Centre, in Stockport. I have been doing it for the last six or seven years twice a season. The League Managers Association and Premier League have always contributed and it’s a fantastic check-up. All sorts of people come through and all sorts of different problems have been shown up.”

I remember the programme that Harry Bassett and Sam Allardyce did some years ago. Sam was on a running machine and came off completely knackered because he ran to exhaustion. Then they showed a game, Bolton versus Leicester which finished 3-3. They both had heart-rate monitors and Sam’s heart was higher when the third goal went in than it was when he fell off the running machine!

That’s how it affects you. In terms of showing emotion sometimes, you are what you are. I can’t do it any other way and I couldn’t just sit there.”

We can conclude that Mick McCarthy not only has the heart for the game, but he also has a healthy heart that is regularly checked and keeps on ticking. That’s reassuring!

~ by paddytheflea on November 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
