Spurs squad about Wolves

Let’s look what some of the players and the manager says about Wolves ahead of the match today. Most of it is from Tottenhams official site.

Harry Redknapp:

I always find the games that people expect you to win difficult. I know there are no easy games and Mick’s done a great job at Wolves, so they’ll be tough to beat, make no mistake. I’ve always had games like this no matter where I’ve been. People look at us beating Wigan 9-1 and expect us to go and beat Wolves comfortably, but it doesn’t always work out that way.

They’ve come up from the Championship and they’re a good club. I saw them at Chelsea the other week and they had three or four fantastic chances in the opening stages, but somehow they didn’t manage to convert one of them and ended up losing 4-0. So ok, Wolves are third from bottom, but survival would mean a successful season for them. It’s a long season and there’s a long way to go.”

Tom Huddlestone about his time on loan to Wolves

Glenn Hoddle was always a boyhood hero of mine and was the manager at the time. He used to join in with the training sessions and was still a great player even then. I enjoyed a good three months at Wolves and also scored my first senior goal during that time against my former club Derby, which is something I will always remember. There were two or three massive clubs in the Championship at the time and Wolves were definitely one of them.”

They’ve got a great stadium and great fans. I think I learned quite a lot in those three months and it helped me along. I’ve come quite a long way since then. Back then I was struggling to break into the first team at Spurs but now I’m playing regularly in a team that’s doing well, so long may it continue.

Wolves have had some indifferent results but they play a solid 4-4-2 formation and have some exciting young players. But we feel we can beat anyone on our day at home.

Robbie Keane about his time in Wolves and the game today

I’ve got great memories of Wolves, they gave me my first chance in professional football and I owe them a great deal. I know Mick McCarthy very well and I know how he gets his players going – he’s a tremendous manager and a great motivator.

If we think for one moment that we just have to turn up at White Hart Lane to win, then we’ve got another thing coming. If we stick to the way we’re playing at the moment, we should get the three points. But it doesn’t matter how we get them, the most important thing is to win the match and we’ll be ready for Wolves, no question.

~ by paddytheflea on December 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
