Mick’s defense

Mick McCarthy answered the critics tonight in a press conference and on the official site

It wasn’t always in my mind to make so many changes but it was a decision I made after Saturday’s game at Tottenham. The players give their own ratings on how difficult they felt the match was fitness-wise and the average was nine-and-a-half to ten. We have to be at that level to get anything out of a match and it just wasn’t going to  happen on Saturday and Tuesday and then on Sunday again. And we’d lost Dave Edwards on top of Keogh and Kightly to operations. We couldn’t have done it again today and then again on Sunday.”

I read an article somehow where (Chelsea manager) Carlo Ancelotti had said that the risk of injury in one game is 10 per cent. And then that goes up to 30 or 40 per cent if another intensive game follows in three or four days. We believe that anyway.

That was the best team available to me tonight because it was fresh legs and I thought we were as competitive tonight as we were against Chelsea and Arsenal. I can understand why people might not be too happy. But I’ve got a squad of players to pick from and they are all first team players. I hope supporters can understand why but it’s my job to make those decisions. If we do stay up then maybe everyone will look back and say they were all good decisions.”

It’s my job to keep this club in the Premier League and I’m making decisions which I believe are right. I took the decision knowing full well the questions that would be asked and what has happened that we’ve come out tonight without any more injuries. I’m here to look after this club and I make decisions which I believe are for the good of this club.

About the match against Manchester United

I thought Mancienne was outstanding as was Kevin Foley and Surman and we got Zubar back as well- So there were some good performances out there even though we lost the game.

Paddytheflea’s critique of the decision by Mick McCarthy can be read HERE

(Highlights from the match among the ‘videos, highlights’ in the right sidebar)

~ by paddytheflea on December 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Mick’s defense”

  1. I thought Elokobi and Mancienne did a good defensive job. Just one goal against, from open play is ok against Man U. It was a successful experiment. Elokobi has a lot of potential as a central defender, no doubt about that. And the other players got valuable experience too. But again defensive set pieces against became decisive. I think it was a right decision by the gaffer too rest key players for the next match.

    • Yes. They did a god job against a very weak Manchester United side. Our first eleven would have done an even better job. They could have won this match and gained three points for our survival. I think the gaffer did the wrong decision by this reason and the reason that it was morally wrong as well.

Leave a Reply

 
