McCarthy happy that Shackell stays at Doncaster

Wolves defender out on-loan to Doncaster, Jason Shackell, is very pleased with the deal coming through to extend the loan, and he says to local Yorkshire paper The Star.

I am very happy to be staying as I was hoping the deal was going to happen. I am really enjoying my football under the coaching staff. I like the way the team plays and the way that the gaffer sets out the team. We have got a good group of lads here and I am enjoying my football.

I have not spoken to Mick (McCarthy) but he was happy for me to stay. He has made it clear that I will be leaving Wolves and that is not a problem. I would never rule out anything. Right now I am happy that it has been extended until the end of the season. Once my loan comes to an end, we will then discuss what options are available and where we go from there. At the moment, my focus is on playing for Doncaster.

With four clean sheets in five matches manager Sean O’Driscoll is delighted over the extension for the influential centre-half.

The deal was always on the cards. He has done well for us and he is not going to feature for Wolves so it suits all parties. I thought it would take a little longer to agree everything so I have to thank Wolves for all there help.

The budget of the struggling club seem to set limits to what they can spend, though.

If an opportunity arises we would definitely be interested in signing Jason permanently but we have got to work within our budgets and financial realities. We have got an ambitious chairman and if anybody can do it then he can but we can’t put the club into debt or jeopardy.

Wolves signing of Jason Shackell last season was clearly a mistake. He will not ever take a place in Wolves and the best thing is of course to sell him on. But with the over price Wolves paid for him, they will find it hard to get their money back. the next best thing is of course to loan him out, which they have. But I smell a loss in the end here.

But I wish Shackell good luck in the Cup against Brentford and hope that everything will turn out well for him.

Paddytheflea

P.S. Brentford v Doncaster is postponed as is Accrington v Gillingham and Bristol City v Cardiff in the FA Cup today.D.S.

~ by paddytheflea on January 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
