Keane Report: Arrival at Celtic and match against Killie

It was jubilation and an upset at Parkhead when Robbie arrived at Parkhead, Glasgow just before midnight on the last day of the January transfer window to sign for the legendary Scottish club Celtic.

The word was out on the internet and in all news and sports media of Great Britain and Ireland and 3.000 fans, press reporters and photographers were at Parkhead to witness his arrival and signing for the club. Just Look at the upset! Would it have been like this if he had signed for Wolves? I doubt it.

Robbie Keane played his first match starting for Celtic already last night against Kilmarnock away. Unfortunately they lost by one goal to nothing.

But he looked very happy to be at his new club late on Monday night, and the 29-year-old Dubliner was very relaxed and upbeat as he answered questions, writes The Irish Times. Robbie Keane:

At the end of the day “I’m here until the end of the season to get games. It’s worked out well for myself, Tottenham and Celtic but that’s as far ahead as I’ve thought; I’m looking forward to playing games. I could have stayed there (White Hart Lane), sitting on the bench and be a bit part player but people who know me know that that’s not me. I’m not the type to sit about and just pick up my money. I love playing football.


I think it was inevitable that I would play for Celtic some day and I’m here now. And I’m coming here at a good age. I didn’t want to come here at maybe 34 (the age Roy Keane upon his arrival at the club three years ago), when I was maybe struggling.

How did Keane do in his début for Celtic then? Well. He had a series of chances, but were denied all by a series of saves by the Kilmarnock keeper Cammy Bell.

After half an hour came Keane’s first attempt on goal. He curved the ball towards the outside of the post and Bell helped it out for a corner. Four minutes later he tried his luck with a lob but missed the target and then he was kept out by Bell with a fine double-save from close range.

After an hour Fortune sent a cross in from the right-hand side that Keane latched on to and fired goal-bound, but Bell came to the rescue and Celtic remained goalless. With five minutes left Keane tested Bell again and seemed certain to score, but the Killie keeper pulled off a fantastic save with his feet.

Sour grapes, Robbie! But maybe it would have been worse for a Wolves supporter to see reports of our long lost son scoring goals for fun up north on a day like this. But I’m certain he soon will do just that. He is definitely different class to most players up there.

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on February 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
