Daniel Jones: I jumped at the chance to play for Bristol Rovers



As Paddytheflea – as the first media source in the world – informed you about yesterday, Daniel Jones has signed for Bristol Rovers. He has signed for a month to begin with.

The Rovers boss Paul Trollope is very pleased with the signing (from the Bristol Rovers Official site):

Daniel’s a player we have tracked for a long time. When he moved to Notts County earlier in the season it appeared it would give him regular football and the opportunity to be part of something big. Obviously circumstances changed, the deal they had agreed fell through and he found himself back at Wolves. We’ve had a number of injury issues at full-back over the last few weeks and we are pleased that we have been able to add him to the squad.

He’s a young player who brings the attributes that we look for in that he’s quite tall, has good pace and a very good left foot. He can pass it and get forward as well as undertaking his defensive duties. He’s had a number of loan spells over the last two or three years and performed at a good level at all of them. He’s here for a month initially, with a view to extending it for longer. With him being out of contract in the summer, maybe we can look at it for next year if all goes well.

He trained with us on Saturday and Sunday in preparation for the Charlton game and he’s fitted into the group well. We want competition for every place in the squad and we haven’t had that at full-back.

And Daniel Jones is very pleased to be playing first team football again:

I was planning to have the weekend off but I received a call from the manager on Friday asking me if I’d like to move to Bristol Rovers. I was aware that they were interested in me before, so I jumped at the chance to come. The move to Notts County was meant to be permanent but everything seems to have gone pear-shaped there! “

“I didn’t really enjoy my time at Meadow Lane. It was strange in terms of the expectation levels and the money that was supposed to be there. It all seemed very rosy when I first went there. But it turned out to be a lot of hot air and all of a sudden it was all taken away – there’s been a reality check.

My contract is up at end of season, but we’ll have to see what happens at that point. I’m disappointed I haven’t been able to hold down a regular place at Wolves, but I have not been given a chance to play in my favoured position. The gaffer likes to see me as a wide left-sided midfielder but everywhere I’ve been I’ve played at left-back.

I agree that Daniel Jones has not been properly given a chance to play at the left back for Wolves. And the competition for that spot is not – in my opinion – fierce. But maybe it is possible for Mick and his merry men to decide in training that he has not what it takes yet to compete in the highest level of football.

Anyway I wish him good luck in Bristol. He is entitled to it after the Notts County adventure. And you will of course be able to follow his progress in Bristol on…

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on February 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
