Chris Iwelumo: It’s been a frustrating 9 months for me

Chris Iwelumo is relieved of playing again after sitting on the bench or being injured at Wolves. He is now on-loan at Bristol City and has talked about his thoughts to ‘This is Bristol’.

Having been out for so long, I think I need to prove a point to myself more than anyone else. It’s been a frustrating nine months for me, and it’s a relief just to be playing again. The road back to fitness has been a long one and I’ve really had to get my head down and try hard not to let it get to me. It’s hard when your team-mates are playing in the Premier League every week and you are having to watch from the stands. Now I’m back playing again, I just want to make up for lost time.

I first heard Bristol City were interested in taking me last Thursday afternoon. When the gaffer called me in and asked if I fancied it, I said ‘yes’ straight away. Less than 24 hours after hearing the news, I was training with the City boys and preparing to face Sheffield United. After so long out injured, I just want to play again, and I’m delighted Gary Johnson wants to give me that opportunity. Now it’s up to me to prove I can do a job for the club and do myself justice in the Championship again.

I’ve kept tabs on the Championship and I know what has been going on at Bristol City. But I also have a lot of friends in the dressing room here and I know how good these players are. They definitely have what it takes to turn things around, if only they can get that first win. I’d like to think my experience can help, both on and off the pitch, and I plan to do everything I possibly can to help while I’m here.”

Big Chris about the game against Sheffield United and the upcoming game against Leicester at home tonight

I thought we started the game really well and were on top for the first 15 or 20 minutes. We created a few half-chances and it would have been a very different game had we scored during that period. There is a fine line between winning and losing, and it’s up to us to turn those half-chances into clear-cut chances and show the quality to take them. I’m sure we’ll have a lot more of the ball and see that when we play Leicester at home.”

Iwelumo showed some good moves already against the Blades and I’m sure he will gain in match fitness and confidence as he gets more playing time. Many Wolves supporters forget that Big Chris have had massive injury problems this season and haven’t really had a chance to play himself into the team because of that.

That may very well also be one of the reason why Ebanks-Blake haven’t been a hit in Wolves this season. The pairing worked wonders in the Championship and Iwelumo has showed that he knows how to handle the Championship defences while playing for Charlton, Colchester and other clubs as well.

I don’t think we should write him off as a Premier League striker either. If he gets in form and smashes them in at Championship level he could very well do it for Wolves in the last matches of the Premier League this season as well. So good luck to Big Chris against Leicester and in the fourthcoming games.

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on February 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
