Stearman: Hopefully the manager will remember what I’ve done

Richard Stearman scored a goal in the reserves win with 4-1 against West Ham yesterday and afterwards he talked to the Official Site.


I feel like the forgotten man at the moment but it was good to get a runout to keep the fitness. I’ve felt ready for the first team since I first came out of the side. It’s just about biding my time and waiting for my chance and grabbing a goal puts my name out there. You’d like to think performances in training and in the reserves will count.

It’s just a case of knuckling down and hopefully the manager will remember what I’ve done and if I get my chance, then great. The lads have done really well and picked up a few points so it’s part and parcel of the game. I felt I was having a great season up until the Wigan game, then I got sent off and I haven’t featured again. Hindsight is a beautiful thing – if it happened again I wouldn’t have pulled him down then I might still be in the team! But it’s a learning curve and I’ll look to take my chance if I get it.

I’ve got many friends who have asked where Stearman has gone, missing him in the game. So he is not a forgotten man among the fans, but perhaps McCarthy has forgotten him?!

Zubar is the main reason why Stearman has not taken his place back in the first team. The Frenchman is a better tackler and a better passer than Stearman and he has played some very good football lately. In my opinion he did a weak performance against Stoke, though, but I doubt that will be enough for McCarthy to play Stearman instead of him from start. But his performance against West Ham in the reserves may very well have earned him a seat on the bench against Fulham come Saturday.

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on April 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
