Doyler Armed for Armenia

Andy Keogh, Kevin Foley and Kevin Doyle are all Wolves and all in the Republic Of Ireland squad that face Armenia away and Andorra at home in this break for the Euro qualifiers.

But it will only be one of the three who will be in the starting eleven come tomorrow in Yerevan and that is of course Kevin Doyle.

He will play beside former Wolves player Robbie Keane, who still have knee problems after playing on plastic against Young Boys in Switzerland. I’m not sure if Keogh will be on the bench. Foley should in my opinion be, but I doubt that he will.

With Keane playing through the pain barrier Doyler has to take a bigger responsibility for the team. I know he is up to it.

I was a little harsh when I wrote the ratings after the Newcastle game, but when I looked at a rerun on TV I could see that he didn’t play bad at all. He was only outshone by our other striker in that game.

The Irish are looking for two victories in these games and I believe they are right. But the home crowds in Yerevan are known to be fanatic in supporting their team and the weather is reported to be very hot over there, so it will not be an easy game.

Here is the starting eleven for tomorrows game (kick off at 4pm):

Shay Given, John O’Shea, Sean Saint Ledger, Richard Dunne, Kevin Kilbane, Liam Lawrence, Glenn Whelan, Paul Green, Aiden McGeady, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle.

I wish our lads playing a rub of the Green tomorrow!

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on September 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
