Adlène Guédioura: Hopefully now I can get one in for Wolves as well!

The Wolves Algerian midfielder Adlène Guédioura is on fire since scoring his first goal for his country the other day.

And what a goal it was! It was one of those that made the ones watching rising from their seats making loud noises (you can watch it HERE). But sadly it was not enough for Algeria winning the game. The match against Tanzania ended one all and the coach was fired. Algeria was expected to win this one and after a weak performance in the World Cup finals this was the last chance for their poor coach.

Guédioura, on the other hand, has probably a long and successful career both in the national team and in Wolves to look forward to. If he can play as he did in the international and as he has done lately in Wolves – remember him setting up the goal against Everton – he will be picked by McCarthy time and again, I’m sure.

And he really seem to be in harmony and full of confidence when the Official Wolves site made an interview with him:

I’m delighted to have scored my first international goal. It was important because it wasn’t only my first goal but also an equalising goal. To be honest I think we deserved to go on and win the game and a draw wasn’t the best result but it gives us something going into the next game. As soon as I received the ball I saw I had the space to try and shoot. I took my chance and managed to find the net so I was very happy and the crowd were very happy also.

Hopefully now I can get one in for Wolves as well! I do like to shoot when I can and I’m in the right positions. I do like to get forward and try and be a threat to the opposition. But my first job is to keep the ball and get tackles in and win the ball back in the midfield. I know a lot of people have talked about my contribution at Everton but that has gone now.”

I have to look forward because the season is very long! I hope that I can impress more and show that I can start games and contribute to the team. We know Fulham will be another tough game for us away from home which makes it more difficult. But we are prepared for it and can go there feeling confident we can get a good resultWith that confidence we can move forward.”

I believe they can! And as I previous wrote Wolves has a good chance to counter attack a team like Fulham. And we have the players to do it. And Adlène Guédioura is definitely one of them.

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on September 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “Adlène Guédioura: Hopefully now I can get one in for Wolves as well!”

  1. What a bargain he was … MM knows his trade

  2. I remember when we got Guedioura on loan.
    I was like WTF?
    But, after all, he proved to be a good signing.
    I’m proud of him and McCarthy.

Leave a Reply

 
