Probable Team Lineups: Wolves v Aston Villa

Time for the first West Midland derby this season. What a treat!

Wolves just got to show what they can do at home against very good local competition on Sunday. And do you know what? I think they will!

Why is that then? We have to go back thirty years – to 1980 – to record the latest win for Wolves against Aston Villa. And Villa are a team that have ambitions to grab at least an Europa League spot this season and they have ended up on the upper half of the tables for years.

Well. Wolves did not beat them last year but they were their equals both at home and away. And away we were close of winning against them.

Wolves have strengthened the team since last season, but to my eyes it looks like Villa has weakened theirs. That is probably also the reason why manager O’Neill left the club.

Another reason why Wolves have a great chance of taking their first victory in thirty years is that Villa were so late in getting a new manager. Monsieur Houllier is probably a good one, but his team is not in order yet and it will take a few games before they play like he wants them to do. So in my opinion the ‘Houllier factor’ at this time will be a negative one for Villa.

Conclusion: If I had a pound or two left over (which I have not) I would definitely put them on a Wolves win on Sunday, but don’t blame me if you lose them. 😆

I’m a little occupied with some other shores tonight, so I will not do my usual writings about why specific players will play or not. But I have a pretty good idea about it. So Let’s cut to the chase.

UTW! Paddytheflea

Here are the probable starting elevens for Sunday:


~ by paddytheflea on September 24, 2010.

One Response to “Probable Team Lineups: Wolves v Aston Villa”

  1. I’m really hoping that’s the starting 11 too.
    If it is, then I’m pretty sure we can win comfortably.

Leave a Reply

 
