Probable Lineups: Fulham v Wolves

At last! The Premier League is rolling again and Wolves have an interesting game against Fulham away.

On paper it looks like something we could get something from, but you’ll never know. Last season we got four points from the matches against this team, which mean we haven’t experienced a loss against them, so it’s thumbs up.

And we got to be pleased with the situation concerning injuries aswell. Long term for Kights and Hunt, but that’s accounted for. Otherwise Zubar is still out aswell as Mouyokolo – whose problem seem to be more long-term than anticipated. But they have yet to figure in Wolves so they don’t really count.

McCarthy has told the press that Steven Fletcher and Jelle Van Damme are available and ready to play. Good! But it would be a major surprise if he starts with anyone else but Sylvan Ebanks-Blake and Doyle up front. They are both up and running and in form. Watch out, Fulham!

In fact I believe that Mick has an easy job to pick out the starting eleven against Fulham. He will surely go for a 4-4-2 and all players are in place as I see it. With Van available Jarvis will start on the right with an option to shift, but i believe he will do better there now than against Newcastle, as Kelly is a much easier task to go past than Enrique.

What about Fulham then? Reports earlier in the week said that Bobby Zamora was out. Now reports says that he is O-K. But I’ve seen no info whatsoever from the club itself. I guess that means he’s a doubt. And Duff is a doubt aswell. Two of their absolute best in my book. And Schwartzer in goal is probably out aswell – and it seem that he is in conflict with the club. No ideal situation to have.

But don’t let that fool you. Fulham is a very good team. Especially at home. They played a draw and then some against the mighty Manchester United. But on the other hand they seem to play well against United as a rule at home. Strange thing.

With Duff and Zamora out we should get at least a draw. With them playing it’s much harder. They are the icing of their cake. The most probable result is a draw and I believe Wolves would take that, but Fulham would not. And don’t forget that Dembele-guy. He could present himself against us.

I believe both teams will try to use the corridor to the right (see below) to get forward. That’s where the battle will be won.

They will try to go forward and grab three points and that will be a chance for Wolves to take three if we play our cards right. We have the players to do it with Sylvan and Doyle playing for fun and Jarvis on a high after signing a new contract. Hell – we will win it!

After sticking out  like that let’s look at the probable starting elevens. Easier to pick Wolves than Fulham, for sure.

Paddytheflea

~ by paddytheflea on September 11, 2010.

6 Responses to “Probable Lineups: Fulham v Wolves”

  1. I feel like either we narrowly win, or a 1-1 tie.
    I hope the narrow win is the result though!
    UTW!

    • I have the same thoughts about this one, Erick. I don’t think the Fulham defence could contain Doyler and Ebanks-Blake both. And istn’t it about time that Craddock open up his scoring this season? 😆

  2. I really think we’ll nick 3 points today. My partners dad is a fulham fan so I really hope so. In fact, her 1st Wolves game was when we beat them at Mol last year, with her dad watching on the telly in London. Priceless.

    I’ve gone for van damme in my fantasy football team so really hope he plays and also contributes today. I think he might go for guediora though, after his goal for his country and the contribution at everton he’s really pushing for a place anyway.

    Wanted to email u last night actually to hear your thoughts on that, what’s the best way to get in touch with paddy?

    • Well. This is probably the best way, but I have my own mailbox as well. it’s paddytheflea@gmail.com

      Van Damme has quickly become one of my favorites, Sleachy, and I would put him before Guédioura at the moment. But they are hard men with a lovely drive to get forward both. Jelle will probably not have the steem to play all ninety, though, so I guess Guédi will come on after about an hour with fresh legs that could very well determine the game.

    • Sleachy, I love you.
      0-1, Van Damme!
      UTW!
      Let’s hope Guedioura scores and Doyle too 😀

  3. We will be doing well to get a point IMO!

Leave a comment